The use of social media is replacing face to face contact with many people. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In our modern world, the development of technology leads to many differences in all aspects of human life, and the method of communication between people also follows this trend. More and more people tend to use the social platform to connect with family and friends rather than face to face conservation. From my point of view, it has a greater benefit than drawbacks. First, social media is a good solution for people who have to work far from home or lack time to keep in touch with their beloved ones. Since several persons spend their time pursuing their careers and travelling abroad for business, they have to utilize this method to contact their family and friend. Second, people in multiple locations could extend their relationship. There are many media platforms that allow individuals worldwide to find new friends and take part in classes without being at the exact location. For example, in the Corona pandemic, many people couldn’t meet their relatives frequently, many social media platforms such as Facebook or Snapchat became the sole way to contact others. Teachers and students also need the Zoom website for studying instead of going to school. However, lacking real interaction with others could cause several disadvantages. Because of relying on social media, many people limit their time to visit parents and family. As a result, their close relationship could be demolished. Moreover, people seem to be addicted to social media, so they spend more time on it than the real community. For example, many young people prefer making friends from over the world rather than their neighbours, resulting in a weak society. In conclusion, advanced technology and social media allow humankind to save time and expenditure in travelling in connecting with others. However, face-to-face communications are still essential since they could stabilize the relationship as well as the community.