Some people feel that students perform better in school when they are rewarded, while some others feel that they perform better when they are punished. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Students performing well at school are undoubtedly the wishes of every parent. Nevertheless, there remains a heated debate of which approach is better to boost students' performances, punishments or rewards. I believe that the application of those approaches should be balanced, and this essay will discuss the pros and cons of both methods. On one hand, nobody dislikes rewards, and so does children. In other words, pupils would be more motivated to do their task should they believe that their efforts will be rewarded accordingly. For example, early schoolers that are told that they would get a gift should they successfully observe fasting during the month of Ramadhan, are more likely to succeed in finishing their fasting. However, it is worth noting that this approach also has drawbacks. Repeated failures may somehow turn into demotivation, as they start to believe that their efforts are futile. On the other hand, punishment is considered to be effective by some parents, because it is only natural for children to avoid being punished. In addition, punishment would teach them that every actions and decision have their own consequences, thus pupils would be more responsible. Nonetheless, this method will only work on low performing children but has minuscule impacts on their higher-performing counterparts. For instance, model students are the least likely to get bad scores, hence deterrence is by no means effective To conclude, both punishment and reward have their own benefits as well as drawbacks in the effort to increase student performance. The application of both methods should be designed accordingly based on the condition of the class.