Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

Should physical education be included in school's compulsory curriculum or be an optional subject has been argued by society and parents. Some of them believe in the health and well-being that sport could bring, while others want to well spend those classes for the preparation of exams. I am more inclined to the benefits that it and will elaborate my view in this essay. Obviously, sport is not an important subject in many educational systems because it will be not tested for the university entrance exams. The time of this somehow maybe well-spent on others namely math, physics, biology which are important for university and in choosing the field of further study and career path later. Many schoolers, however, are not active and sporty, which explains their lack of interest in physical education. These pupils may prefer to do academic tasks in class than running or performing exhausting outdoor activities. While it is true to say that sports teaching is not necessary for students, in fact, successful people in life are often good at it. If students just spend all their time studying on textbooks and repairing for exams, they would become unhealthy and their brains would malfunction. Joining clubs that require teamwork collaboration such as football or basketball is not only good for body training but also advantageous in terms of mental training for a highly competitive and strong spirit. It is also a fact that the Ivy leagues schools are having the best sports team in America. In sum, while academic subjects are essential and vital in so many institution systems, physical education is also a fundamental subject for a healthy and balanced growing up in every child. Personally, I believe students should have the freedom in choosing which sport they are good at and participate in those clubs to strengthen their body and mind.