The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population. This is causing problems not only for the poor in undeveloped countries but also for industrialised and developing nations. Should population control be strictly controlled by governments ? Give your opinion.

Currently in the 21st century, Mankind is facing an exponential growth of numbers of people existing on a planet. This issue could provoke a quandary for both high-end developed countries and the rest of the world. Should the State interfere with our rights to reproduce? I am opposed to such government activity because it is immoral. Undoubtedly, nowadays, our living standards have significantly improved. We live in a state-of-the-art era i.e. leading-edge medicine is expanding one’s life expectancy. As a result, the global population is ceaselessly growing. Do we need to control it and how can it be done? First of all, the crucial part of this question evolves resources or more precisely – the lack of them. Our ‘dog-eat-dog’ society was arguably built on Darwin’s Theory where survival plays a major role. That means the absence of key resources such as food or drinkable water, could possibly create an appalling future scenario resulting in a world war. Obviously, governments absolutely must be in tune with the importance of controlling these resources. Secondly, ‘the elephant in the room’ is amount of waste made by society. This rapidly increasing population is culpable for producing a tremendous amount of harmful and toxic waste. For instance, plastic in the world oceans substantially damages our planet. In spite of advancements of technologies, we have recently started to recycle and we wish it will be perpetuated. First and foremost, people need to mitigate the risks of dreadful pollution consequences. Without any doubt, we need to be in harmony with our ‘mother planet’. Lastly, we unfortunately, can’t change our biological heritage. It programmed by our DNA. Therefore, neither governments nor anybody else have the legal or moral right to prohibit to reproduction. However, we are responsible for the upbringing of children in general, therefore this vital decision should be made conscientiously. Life is an incredible gift where one’s life has immeasurable value.