Colour is a powerful tool that is used to great effect by manufacturers and retail companies when they try to sell something. In fact, many of the purchasing decisions we make are partly or largely influenced by colour. How true is this statement? How much does colour influence us when we buy something?

Nowadays, companies use a variety of tools to attract the attention of customers. Colour is one of the most effective ways to achieve this aim. Having a significant experience in shopping, I can not agree more, that colour scheme inevitably influences my decisions. In this essay, I will consider different points of view on this object. To start with, colour helps us to choose goods with the highest quality. Especially if we are talking about food. For instance, yellow bananas are sweeter than green. Ideal red tomatoes are suspected to be enriched with chemicals. So, colour directly shows us what we should acquire. So, farmers and manufacturers strive to achieve a natural view of the products they sell. Another way to increase income is to associate goods with something familiar and well-known, especially with colour schemes. As we know, the Christmas holidays are coming soon. During this period manufacturers produce red labels and packages. Tea boxes, chocolate, everything reminds us about future celebrations and a wide range of gifts. Undoubtedly, customers feel these vibes and buy more than they need. On the other hand, people by and large make decisions more practically, especially with the development of online trade. When I was looking for a warm down jacket, I made my decision on the grounds that it can be worn in severe winters, the style is admirable, it is warm and cosy. And for me, the dark green colour was not an obstacle. The same approach can be applied for other goods which must solve partial tasks and can not be bought impulsively. To sum up, colour has a significant effect on our decisions in shopping. We tend to prefer goods that attract our attention with a bright appearance. Moreover, I can impulsively buy new clothes in spring when I come to the department store and see stunning shades of pastel. Otherwise, if we look for something specific or things that should be functional, colour is not the main argument.