Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Nowadays, the majority of processed foods are those with extremely high levels of sugar, which can cause a broad list of health problems. Thus, some people argue that the best solution to that issue is to increase the cost of these foods in an attempt to reduce their consumption. To begin with, there is no doubt about the serious and dangerous impact of an increased dose of processed sugars on the human body. This is because most diet-related diseases, such as obesity, diabetes, and some types of cancers, are mainly caused by oversugared diets. But what exactly is the solution? While the solution in question might mitigate the issue a bit, it’s not a proper way to tackle it. This is mainly due to the fact that most of these sugary foods, such as bread, are often essential for daily survival; thus, increasing their cost might lead to a lack of basic human need for food. On the other hand, I suggest that the best approach towards less sugar intake is changing the notion of the consumers, especially the less literate. ones. For instance, governments should organize “talks” that educate the civilians. about the dangers of these foods and present them with cheap alternatives. On the other hand, obligating the citizens to consume less through increasing the prices can be a limitation to the freedom of citizens and might even cause a contrasting reaction. That is why associations should work on the inner desire of the person to change and switch to a sugar-free diet instead of obligation. In conclusion, despite the fact that sugar is the main source of most of today’s health problems, we should oblige change through economic strategies. Instead, governments should aim for a more self-derived change.