Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

The fact that many ex-convicts tend to commit more crimes after being punished has become a widespread concern in many countries. Some explanations for this social issue will be put forwards before a number of remedies can be taken to mitigate the impacts of this problem. It is evident that this phenomenon actually results from some following causes. Firstly, their criminal history usually makes it very difficult for ex-offenders to be employed.Obviously, many firms do not prefer hiring reformed criminals. Therefore these ex-convicts have to resort to illegal activities again to earn a living. Secondly, even relatives show stigma against individuals with criminal records and this discourage them from leading a normal life. Actually, loneliness and a lack of emotional support are the two biggest obstacles to overcome. There are many solutions that can be adopted to tackle the fore-mentioned concerns. To begin with, the government should pass legislation that prohibits discrimination based on criminal records. Apparently,citizens with prior justice system involvement should be treated as normal members of society.And the purpose is to help them gain employment. The second cure is that other people in the community should change their mindset towards used-to-be prisoners. We should provide them with the necessary mental as well as financial support. For example, neighbours should pay ex-inmates regular visits. In conclusion, there are two principal reasons why more and more ex-offenders repeat crime after serving their first prison sentence, and the combination of the fore-discussed measures can significantly alleviate the effects of this undesirable matter