Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the eyes of some, the rising trend of using electronic devices among young individuals to communicate will have disadvantageous in their reading and writing abilities. In my opinion, writing and reading using devices including computers and cellphones will negatively influence the ability to accurately spell words, forming sentences, and they also lose the habits of reading wordy materials. It is undeniable that technology has become an integral part of the contemporary lifestyle. People, espeically the younger generation, are now using technological instruments as a main form of writing messages or any other documents, as they are quipped with various applications to enhance the users' experiences. For example, iPhones have built-in autocorrect function to immediately amend any misspelling words that the users type, and others applications such as Grammarly assist in writing essays or emails by editting the written documents with beautiful and logical grammar structures. As a result, more people rely on such functions to structure their written materials, making them lose the ability to write sentences on their own. In fact, researches have shown that people who are accustomed to writing on electronic devices struggle with writing using pen and papers. Besides the loss of the ability to form correct grammar structures, many find their handwritting unreadable, due to the lack of practices. Furthermore, there are different applications that aid in the reading habit of young people, from the apps that can summarise an entire book, to those that could read the documents for them. Eventually, these young individuals will find it difficult to focus on lengthy books with long sentences, as they get used to reading short, condensed contents, or worse, having the contents read out loud. Indeed, market surveys have shown a surge in the usage of online applications that could summarise books, and the reducttion in time spent reading books among young audiences. In conclusion, although the technologies provide great tools for communication, they negatively impact the ability to read and write of young people, reducing their ability to comprehend lengthy books, and making them lose the skills to compose complex structures on their own.