The detailed description about crime will affect people and cause many social problems. Some people say that the media should be strictly controlled. To what extent, do you agree or disagree?

The way of broadcasting news by media has changed a lot in recent years. Some argue that how media, nowadays, deeply describe any crime to the viewers should be controlled because it can lead to many social issues. In this essay, I will explain that although media should be given the freedom of expression, at the same time, why I tend to agree with this that news channels should be censored about airing the detailed description of crimes to avoid several problems in our younger generation. When various news channels broadcast crimes and then scrutinise them, it can provoke many young people to commit that crime and as a result dire consequences for themselves and for society are inevitable. In 2016, for instance, a teenage couple tried to smuggle some prohibited and illegal drugs from Pakistan to Dubai in a special kind of personalised and modified suitcase because they had seen someone on a tv channel who had successfully done it a couple of years back. They were, however, detained in Dubai airport and later on been incarcerated for 30 years. Undoubtedly, it was a huge loss for themselves, their family and their country. So, in my opinion, the government should pay some attention to the censorship of the media what they show to the general public about crimes. In contrast, others, however, advocate that media should let people know about different crimes, criminals and their numerous consequences because this will help to deter the crime rate. Admittedly, a person would think twice before indulging himself in a serious crime if he had known about the outcomes of it. Thus, media can play a role by airing certain crimes and their potential outcomes by remaining within a limit. In conclusion, there is some truth to the notion that media should let public aware of the nature and consequences of crimes but if we look beyond the tabloid it is clear that broadcasting too much detail on a serious crime should be censored in order to reduce the social problems that can generate as a result of that.