An increasing number of people are now using dating sites to meet their better halves. Do you think that this tendency helps people to socialize or does it do more harm than good? Give your opinion. Provide relevant examples if necessary.

Dating sites are in recent days becoming popular in enabling many individuals to get in touch and develop intimate relationships. I believe this is a great and simpler way to interact and get to know other people in the outside world. My position is articulated further in the essay below. To begin with, social media has become very famous in connecting individuals who wish to have a lasting relationship. In recent days, dating through social sites such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter among others has brought solutions to many who have spent years trying to acquire a love partner. For Instance, a majority of these individuals are employed and spend most of their time working and have little or no time at all to get out there and meet with a person of their choice. It is quite easy for them to connect in the evening through the social sites while relaxing at home. Furthermore, traditions have for a while now dictated whom we marry. The ancient ways of doing things are slowly fading away. For example, parents, churches and the community contributed a lot in deciding whom we settle down with by dictating and giving their varied opinion. This to a large extend influenced the decision one had to come up with to get a lifelong partner. Therefore, with social sites, there is minimal interference from the outside world and this gives the individual the opportunity to make an independent decision. In conclusion, therefore, I appreciate the invention of social sites which have enabled families to grow and individuals to show affection to those they adore, without the opinion of other people. Without such sites, people would have limited choices to make hence end up in an unwanted affair.