Many people now have freedom to work and live anywhere because of the advances in communication technology and transportation. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technology in the aspect of communication and transportation has become vogue. Many individuals choose to live and work from anywhere because of the great improvement in both transportation and telecommunication. While some folk's opinion on this would differ, I strongly believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. One of the advantages of technology communication is that people can interact with anyone from anywhere around the world. For instance, during the Covid-19 pandemic, most companies resulted to working from their comfort zone in order to be safe from the virus and as such individuals could hold meetings on zoom, teams or WhatsApp platforms. Moreover, with this platform people could have a virtual conversation with each other and get connected. As a result, the introduction of this new technological features into the workplace made some companies save more as it was effective and easy to maintain and employers now have more time to complete assigned tasks. Also, with different modules of cars being produced now, we can get to places faster as against times when folk had to walk to their destinations. On the other hand, one of the disadvantages of this development is that people can easily lose touch with others and fail to interact or socialize as they would have loved to while being in the office. For example, when working from our comfort zone, we might have fewer acquaintances to interact with and this may have severe complications to the mental health of most individuals especially when we refer to the rise in depression. In fact, many persons who opt to work from their residence are prone to socialize less and might lose the ability to interact with others. In conclusion, in the world today, telecommunication is becoming a fast-rising commodity which has helped in bridging the gap between job-performance life and the outside world especially during this period of a pandemic; as such, although the disadvantages of working from home may seem tough, the advantages of having to perform an assigned task at your leisure time without pressure outweighs the negatives.