Some people believe that government should financially support retired people. Others feel that those who have retired pay to support themselves. Discuss the both views and give your opinion.

When people cross the age of 60, they require more attention and aid. Few people think that retired citizens should be financially helped by the government whereas others viewpoint is that they should be self-funded. In this essay, I will discuss both topics and conclude my statement. To begin with, the government should provide financial assistance to the elderly citizens and mainly to those who had retired from the army because they had sacrificed half of their life for the nation. Moreover, even though the medicines are not cheap, elderly residents require to include a lot of medicines in their daily routine so that they can live a longer life. For instance, public servants like sweepers, clerks, and garbage collectors had worked very hard in their early life, and contributed a lot towards the country, they must be rewarded with a pension amount each month. Therefore, the elderly residents will have ease and they will enjoy their retirement life. On the contrary, there are some individuals who save a small quantity of money each year because they don't want to depend on the government after their retirement. Furthermore, it is incorrect to completely rely on the government as they can only accomplish one's basic needs. For example, my grandparents had opened a joint account after their marriage and they deposited a certain amount each month from their salary. Now, they are living independently on their own and travelling to different places without any curb. To summarise, I believe government should provide a helping hand to elderly citizens who are poor and fall below the middle-class category because there are citizens who grab the advantage of such situations.