In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newspapers. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem?

Recycling materials, such as glass, bottles and cartoons, is an important practice that helps to reduce our impact on the environment. Many people across the world, however do not recycle their waste and send everything to landfills. This essay will discuss why this might be this case and how this problem can be alleviated. The reason for the lack of recycling seems to be quite simple. Firstly, in some countries, the recycling programs either do not exist, or they are relatively new. People, therefore, are generally unaware of the importance of recycling their refuse. Being used to seeing all the rubbish going to the same bin, they simply continue to do the same, without putting too much thought into it. Even those who understand the importance and benefits of recycling may still be unwilling to inconvenience themselves with sorting their waste. After all, in order to recycle material, keep it separate such as plastic or newspaper, one needs to put a separate bin at home or find a public recycling dustbin when outside. To encourage people to recycle more, a comprehensive campaign is required. A good start would be to explain to the community in detail what economic and environmental benefits recycling can provide. This can be done via sending flyer deliveries at each home and advertisements on television. The next step is to make recycling as easy as possible. On the streets, recycling should also be located in the general rubbish bin. Home recycling should also be facilitated by various means, such as arranging frequent collections and providing people with free recycling bags. To conclude, it is a lack of awareness about the benefits of recycling and reluctance for people to sort their refuse, that prevents them from engaging with this useful practice. When they fully understand its advantages and can recycle their rubbish at home or outside easily and quickly, I believe that many will choose to do the right thing.