transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

Traffic congestion poses a serious threat to many countries. Experts throughout the world have argued that delayed transportation and extended travel times due to unreliable transport systems are the most popular issues in city regions. This essay will discuss the major causes associated with this issue and propose some possible solutions to mitigate the problem with relevant examples On the one hand, the primary cause of this issue is because of an increased number of private vehicles. This is to say that commuters prefer to travel in their own cars in order to make a reliable and comfortable journey. In addition, public transport systems are unstable and people often feel like sardines in a can. As a result, there are more automobiles creating congestion problems in cities which in turn impacts the travelling hours. Furthermore, most people are living in suburbs and they would travel at the same time of the day which in turn cause further delays in reaching the destination on time. For example, in India, it had been reported that 60% of the congestion issues are due to commuters, especially during peak hours. On the other hand, there are many possible solutions that could be implemented to solve the above-mentioned issues. Firstly, the state should encourage people to use buses and trains rather than cars which would reduce the traffic as well as the pollution. Secondly, green taxes could be imposed on people who are using their private vehicles. In London, for instance, such money is used to develop well-sophisticated Public transports. Finally, carpooling could be encouraged among the masses which significantly reduces the number of automobiles on road. Therefore, imposing any one of the above solutions would be a possible way to mitigate the issues. To conclude, although the delays and long journey times are the major problems in cities, implementing the proposed solutions would definitely help us to overcome the challenges.