Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Some think they should begin at least 7 years old. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, an educational issue related to the age of children should begin their formal education has been widely discussed among people over the world. Some argue that children should be educated as early as possible. However, as far as the economy and personal development are concerned, I strongly hold that kids need a leisure childhood. On the one hand, some parents want to prepare their children for later lives early. It has some advantages. For instance, some kids who have amazing talents can be discovered to get a good education. In addition, parents can get more leisure time because their offspring are taught by professional teachers. Nevertheless, most children are too young to appropriate the formal education. A recent survey conducted by UNESCO revealed that the best age to be educated formally is 7. On the other hand, the disadvantages of educating early far outweigh the advantages. First of all, schools usually do not receive a child under 7 years old so that family tutors need to be employed. Many families cannot afford that because the price of employing an exceptional teacher is expensive. Secondly, teaching kids too early may result in the opposite effect. It is hard for a child to insist on learning without enough time to have fun. And such a depressing environment even may be harmful to the physical growth and mental development of children. For example, My neighbour Yu Qian is a victim of begining formal education too early. He is isolated from his peers because of poor communication skills. In conclusion, I think that formal education beginning at 7 years old is appropriate. Parents are well-advised to pay more attention to the physical and psychological development of their children rather than educating them too early.