Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

The media has over the last few decades made an impression that skinny women are ideal. This has resulted in adolescents being overly focused on their weight and caused eating disturbances. To help overcome this issue, the media should advertise women of normal weight. When the media constantly show slim women, girls will easily be tricked to believe that this is how they should look like. The normal- weight girls will think they are too fat and may develop a non-healthy attitude toward their own bodies. This can lead to eating disturbances as they are concerned that the calories they eat will make them gain weight. Eating disturbances and weight loss among young women are detrimental as it takes away the focus on other important matters such as social activities and studies and it may cause a long-lasting effect on their bodies which need to develop into adult ones. For example, when asking a normal school-teenager about what she thinks about her own body, she would commonly respond that she is too fat. Instead of showing slim women, the media should take action and instead promote the normal- weight women which represents the reality. By doing so, the young girls will see those beautiful normal women come in various shapes including the non-fit ones. This will help them accept themselves and not be prone to an unhealthy lifestyle of becoming skinnier. To recapitulate, when media propagate skinny women as ideal girls believe this is the norm, get overly focused on their own bodies and develop an unhealthy attitude toward their own bodies and their eating habits. To solve this problem, the media should instead use normal- weight women to help the young one understand that women consist of different shapes including non-skinny variants.