Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that everybody has their own right to access tertiary education and the local governments must pay the tuition for all students, despite their economical status. However, others believe that only rich persons are required to pay for their higher schooling. In my opinion, I agree that higher learning institutions should be free for everybody and governments ought to pay the learning tuition. The first reason for the argument is that anybody has the potential to improve their lives quality through a good higher education. A number of studies have shown that by getting a decent higher education, societies have a better life compared to the ones who do not attend university. For example, Mr Habibie, one of the former presidents of Indonesia went to one university in Germany funded by the local authority. He finally could be a successful man after graduation. Thus, it is deemed that the support from the government to fund someone to a university is essential for a better future. On the other hand, some others might think that if governments support by funding all individuals, it can waste the country’s money and the country will suffer on the other parts of sectors. For instance, in Indonesia, higher education is not free, yet the local government only funds certain students who are talented and poor and the rich should pay for the schooling. As a result, the economic stability of the country could be balanced and stable. In conclusion, although some people are convinced that tertiary education should not be free for all people, others think that the local government has to grant all students money to go to universities to get free study. I believe and agree with the latter argument that higher schooling should be free so that every single individual can get an opportunity to be successful in the future life.