Many working people get little time or no exercise during the working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

It is often said that employed adults do not have adequate time for sports during weekdays or even holidays which have caused a variety of illnesses and health issues. The following essay will be discussed regarding two aspects - daily lifestyle and public sport infrastructures and the possible solutions. First of all, the normal working of a typical working adult is eight hours daily, however, a local survey has indicated that in Hong Kong, the average working hour is 11 hours due to overtime. It also means that except for working, dining and sleeping, their spare time has only got two to three hours left. In addition, some jobs have different requirements on the working pattern, for example, six working days a week and anytime on-call. Labours working in restaurants and retail shops are usually requested to work on shift. Therefore, they could bearly arrange a regular fitness routine as same as doctors and police who needed to be ready to take up emergency duties. Finally, as same as a normal company, public sports amenities such as gymnasiums and running courts have their regular office hours which also have limited quotas while many private sports centres are offering a more expensive price. In that case, the adults do not have many options for a sports venue. To deal with the unreasonably long working hours, a comprehensive policy and guidance should be set up by governments for employers to follow such as fully-covered health and medical insurance has to be brought for all employees so as to maintain good health condition and restriction of overtime payment. Furthermore, to provide more opportunities for people to do sports, the government could subsidise the private sports centres in order to lower the cost of joining a sports membership for the public. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that lack of exercising will damage an adult's health, therefore, to rectify this situation, governments should give a hand on regulating the company policy and provide more affordable sports centre to the public.