The world's air pollution levels are rising year on year. What should humanity do to counter this problem?

Atmospheric abuse is a pressing problem in our current times that is rarely discussed. This affects all walks of our lives such as our own health and the well-being of our posterity. Though a radical shift is needed towards novel ways of industrial production, there are also some immediate actions that we can take to tackle this looming challenge. These will be illustrated elaborately. Firstly, the most effective thing we can do is to promote the idea of sustainable development. It is a practice of growing in the present while also keeping the future in mind. For instance, we can not compromise the future of coming generations by deforesting land for present economic development. Does it mean we should stall our industries? The answer is no. Curiously enough, we can complement the deforestation caused by factories by actively participating in afforestation. It is the practice of creating new forests. As corporations are less likely to do this on their own, the Governments of the world need to tax them for the amount of carbon dioxide they emit. Secondly, we must make a leap away from the traditional fuels. Alternatively, humanity must move towards renewable sources of energy to ensure our species continue to thrive on this planet. For example, renewable sources of energy such as Solar energy, Wind and Tidal energy can be used in place of traditional fossil fuels. Due to their indefinite availability, these sources of power can be used without the fear of their depletion. In conclusion, humanity must take a revolutionary step towards more amicable sources of energy to counter world’s rising air pollution levels. Even though there are quick actions that we can do, there is a dire need to let go of any myopic outlook and look at the greater picture.