In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technology in transportation has become more realistic within a few years. Consequently, driverless vehicles including cars, buses and trucks might be the first idea that is soon to be implemented which mean only passengers will be in the vehicles. Personally, I am inclined to the view that the drawbacks outweigh the merits. First and foremost, one of the cogent reasons for the disadvantages of driverless is the higher rate of unemployment especially poorer drivers who did not get higher education. In other words, the need of hiring drivers will be unnecessary and as a result, those drivers will need to find new jobs and somehow it is not what they are good at as well as they don’t have a certain degree to work in other fields. For instance, Uber, one of the rider companies, has lay-off their drivers because driverless cars have been introduced and a large number of drivers has been suffered from jobless because their ability is only driving. However, being used the driverless vehicles benefit those who have higher income status because it can reduce the time they wasted on driving. Additionally, they will get more time to do more important things such as work, meetings or even relaxing. For example, the CEO of one company has a tight schedule and he is always frustrated when he got stuck in traffic while he can make approximately 1 million baht per minute. Therefore, if driverless transportation can be replaced, the CEO will get more time to work and gain money every minute. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that the downsides of driverless vehicles prevail over the merits in terms of the poverty and economic downturn even though it would give more flexibility time for some people. However, the overall economy is more crucial to the people around the world.