Some people think that the news media nowadays have influenced people’s lives in negative ways. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years many individuals are arguing that the media has influenced our lives in a negative manner. In this, essay I will be discussing why I completely disagree with this notion. For and foremost, the media is our mirror to the world, through various media outlets we are able to keep up with current affairs and what's going on in the world economically,politically and socially. Moreover, the media provides us with news instantaneously. For example, when the US government decided to withdraw all their troops from Afghanistan the news was spread across the globe within a few seconds and this is of course because of media outlets, furthermore, through media and TV,shows we get the chance to discover different cultures and traditions. A recent survey that was done by Harvard University states that almost 75% of UNITED STATES citizens learned about different cultures through TV and other media platforms. this is indeed evidence of media enormous impact. However, it is undeniable that the media have some negative aspects. To begin with, paparazzi invade the privacy of famous people just to break news about them or to get a recent picture of them, furthermore, media outlets sometimes broadcast some violent and vulgar content which may affect not only children but also adolescents and adults. However, technology has provided us with options to block these channels that broadcast inappropriate content. In conclusion, media have negative and positive aspects. In my opinion, the media have broken geographical boundaries and brought us closer, also enabling us to be updated with what's happening in the world.