Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss

It is largely argued that the most effective way to punish offenders is by putting them in prison. A prison is an appropriate form of punishment for people who have harmed other people physically and mentally. Sometimes, prison cannot be a form of punishment in terms of making friends with other offenders and having luxuries. On the one hand, prison is an effective way of diminishing criminals in society. If the crime is more serious, prison is the most common punishment and also, some criminals may pose a threat to society. Therefore, they should be put in prison to ensure the safety of other citizens. Prison is a necessary evil for more extreme measures. What is more, for the majority of crimes, prison is the best answer for those who have committed crimes such as murder and violence should carry the death penalty. On the other hand, prison can not be an effective tool for criminals to become better people. Because taking away people's freedom can be the worst thing we can do to a man. Furthermore, prisons let inmates have luxuries such as video games, TVs and top chefs to cook their own food. In my opinion, prison is not a holiday camp and it should be a means of punishment. And so, Inmates make friends with other offenders like themselves. Prison is a particularly good way to rehabilitate some people, as it just educates them in the ways of criminals. To sum up, prison can be a good solution for criminals but, in our current society prisons are not an appropriate form of punishment. I personally think that prison is not the best remedy for criminals.