Online news is not a reliable source of the truth; we should only trust recognised journalists. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A growing number of people believe that due to the increased occurrence of fake news and inaccurate reporting online, the news presented there is unreliable. They believe that traditional media is a more trustworthy source of information. In my opinion, I completely disagree that we should ignore online news reports and place our trust in traditional journalism. Firstly, while there are occasionally issues with accuracy, online journalism offers a much more direct and dynamic form of media. Online reports can be much more up-to-date than anything in print, giving details of rapidly changing situations. This means that the whole story can be told in real-time, with details being added to a story as new information comes out. Recognised journalists usually work in a very traditional way, and this slows down their ability to tell the story. By the time they can report an event, circumstances have often completely changed. Another point to consider is the accuracy and reliability of the traditional media itself. When it comes to reporting a major event or political situation, journalists might be affected by the opinion of their newspaper or TV station’s owners and only give one side of a story. On the other hand, online news is often presented from a large number of perspectives. This means that we have more of a balance in the information we receive. As readers it is important for us to decide which stories are the most reliable, and that is easier when we have more than one version of events to evaluate. In conclusion, although there are some problems with unreliable stories online, this doesn’t mean we should only trust recognised journalists. It is important to get information from as many sources as possible.