In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development .

In the modern era, an enormous amount of shops have filed bankruptcy as departmental stores are increasingly popular among humans. In my perspective, supermarkets are much more convenient than traditional shops. Supermarkets provide the convenience of shopping a variety of things in one place. Since people can find various products manufactured by both local and international brands, hypermarkets attract lots of customers. Now shoppers have the option to review the quality, price, and colour of articles before making any decision. For instance, with the availability of social media, everyday people see advertisements of numerous brands and they want to buy premium quality products from multinational brands. If they decide to purchase a certain product, shopping malls grant access to it. Hence, customers can buy any product regardless of where it is originally manufactured. Not only small businesses are suffering a great deal but also it is a loss of social interaction when small shops are permanently closed. Most of the time, people carry out shopping from nearby localities and experience strong relationships between buyer and seller, but by shutting down local shops, people are somehow losing interaction with each other. Moreover, the local industry is facing challenges while competing with international players. For example, in south Asian countries, local industries have experienced a downfall because of availability of the reasonable Chinese products in the market. Thus, shopping malls are challenging both local businesses and human relationships. In conclusion, even though supermarkets exacerbate the social fabric of society, they bring ease to human lives. According to me, customers are getting much more value from shopping centres.