people consider that history is of little or no use to us. Others believe that studying history helps us to know the present. Discuss these views and give your own opinion

Certain individuals imagine that the past is not important whereas others think it is crucial to our understanding of today. This essay will discuss these two views. It argues that history is of essence to our contemporary lives. First and foremost, it can be opinionated that with the contemporary world being totally different from yesterday, it does not make sense to focus on historical matters. This is because of advances in every aspect of life such that today has its own opportunities, problems, and issues, and hence requires its own curriculum, policies and approaches. For example, no yesteryear theory can be able to explain the future of nanotechnology or any other form of technological advances. Nevertheless, this is not completely true because several technologies today are linked to previous civilisations in Egypt and other places. On the contrary, studying history can be advantageous because it helps us to preserve and conserve the past. Through museums, for instance, people's identities can be kept intact for many generations and such information can be used for educational purposes. I, for example, can confidently talk about my forefathers and their lives in South Africa because of the family tree that has been regularly updated and kept in a safe house for future generations. I have used this tree to educate myself about my origins. In conclusion, therefore, while some people dismiss studies of origins based on irrelevance, these can be valuable to the understanding of our sociocultural roots. This is the primary argument of this essay as shown in the third paragraph.