Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that whether or not carrying guns by police can increase violence. I believe this action has both pros and cons and in the following paragraph, I provide some arguments and examples to provide this. There are three main reasonable reasons why policemen should carry a gun. Firstly, it is too unlikely that criminals do not hold guns when they commit a crime, so why we should restrict police officers guns. For instance, when some offenders are committing a crime such as stealing from a bank usually they carry guns to force people at the bank to listen to them. Also, it would be better for policemen to carry guns in these situations for society’s safety. secondly, if police officers could not protect themselves against criminals who are carrying guns, there will be no more individuals who want to be policemen. furthermore, the number of offenders will diminish. Finally, without strong policemen, people have to face more criminals, which is unfair for kids, women, and other vulnerable people in the community. However, holding deadly weapons such as guns by police officers has some drawbacks. Lethal weapons like guns can bring death to people within a second, so it is essential for each policeman before using a gun and shooting have trained. Therefore, any innocent people will not be put in danger. In addition, using and holding guns in residential areas where the crime rate is low there can cause local people scared of policemen and do not trust them in the future. I think it would be better in more secure places, police officers do not arm, so the atmosphere in these places can be calmer and relaxed. In the other words, it is better policemen have armed just in emergencies. In conclusion, I opine that however carrying guns by police has some negative attitudes, some positions for police officers must hold guns to protect people from criminals.