Some people think it is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems by increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution has been a major concern in recent years. The main reason of the air pollution is caused by the combustion of fossil fuel, some people think that government should raise the price of fuel to resolve this issue. In my opinion, it may help to some extent; however, this is not the only way to tackle this issue. On the one hand, increasing the price of petrol can help to reduce the environmental pollution to some degree. The excessive use of cars releases carbon dioxide into atmosphere which is detrimental to earth. If the price of petrol hiked, individuals would probably start to drive less often and this in turn can decelerate the rate of air pollution. However, the increase in the cost of petrol would not stop the environmental pollution. Besides, the fuel price determined the market price of essential commodities, and increasing price can affect poor and middle class. On the other hand, government can take other measure to mitigate these problems. A better solution is to invest in renewable energy such as solar, wind and tide rather than unrenewable energy like petrol and coal. For example, solar power in the United States has proven its efficiency in energy production. Second, by improving public transport and reducing the cost of traveling, the government can ecourage people to take the transportation; this practice can help clean the environment and reduce traffic. To conclude, I strongly believe that the hike in the petrol price is not the best solution to this problem. Improving the efficiency in public transportaiton and investing in renewable resources is better alternatives that ought to be considered.