Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Nowadays, a part of the population has chosen the death penalty as a just punishment for the people who have committed murders. On the other hand, another part of society disagrees about the death penalty since they think in our days it is not related to just. Of this opinion, we have a main advantage and disadvantage, like the government doesn't need to spend money for containing criminals, however, an innocent can be convicted. One of the benefits the state keeps the budget since they didn't provide food for criminals and the like. Moreover, taxes paid by citizens go to the development of the country. For instance, California allocates $75,000 per year for each person behind bars, by comparison, a year at Harvard University would cost $72,000. However, the death penalty has disadvantages, since the court does not always reach a correct verdict by convicting an innocent person. If you look at the history of the death penalty in the United States, there have been cases where innocent people have been accused, but they have not yet been executed and they have been able to escape death. Although there are also sad cases where innocent people have been convicted, this can be seen in the history of many countries at different times. In conclusion, it can be written that the death penalty has advantages and disadvantages, the positive point is that the state will not need to spend the budget for the maintenance of the convict, negative moment, the court may err and sentence an innocent person to death. I believe that the death penalty has a place to exist because looking at history we know that man can commit horrible crimes, furthermore, the only just punishment is death.