In their advertising, bussinesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Many companies now focus more on what is different and innovative rather than the actual merchandise they are selling, when they are promoting their stuff. This essay will argue that the main reason behind this is the increasing competition among businesses, however, I believe that it is not a positive development because of the negative effect it has on the quality of goods. The primary reason seller emphasizes more on the uniqueness of their products is that the market conditions have now become tougher than they ever were. This is because modern technology, media and the internet have made the world "a global village", and therefore one has to compete not only with local counterparts but international competition also. As a result, people have developed different ways to increase the sale of their merchandise. For instance, one of the biggest company in the cellphone industry is Samsung, which always focus on the unique features their mobiles have, whenever they release the new device and this is usually their selling point. However, this is affecting the quality of what they are promoting. That is because, in order to sell more, businesses are giving more attention to the new features instead of checking the level of stuff they are advertising. Therefore, although their sales figures have expanded, the quality and the trust of people in numerous companies have decreased. For example, a recent survey conducted by the local newspaper found out that more than half of the people refused to buy any product from the companies they have previously bought something, only by seeing their ads. In conclusion, although the competitive nature of the market have forced have forced a number of sellers to advertise differently, I think it is not a good development because of the negligence on improving the condition of goods they are selling.