Some people think that the teenagers should concentrate on all subjects at school. Others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject they are most interested in. To what extent do you agree?

It is considered by some individuals that adolescents should study all the subjects in their school-going years, while another school of thought think that teenagers should devote more time to the subject that interests them. This essay agrees with the former statement as all subjects are essential for better understanding and higher education. To support this argument, focusing on all the subjects in the curriculum significantly improves understanding. This is because students who concentrate on the entire syllabus can fully interpret concepts that depend on the knowledge from various interconnected subjects. For example, to completely comprehend the laws of physics, one has to know how to perform basic mathematical calculations. Moreover, focusing on all the subjects can help students acquire crucial life skills. For instance, knowledge about economics could be beneficial in the future for tasks such as paying taxes, which could not be attained while investing more time in one specific subject such as science. Another convincing reason could be that it provides excellent options for higher education. This could be due to the fact that the main criteria followed by most universities for admission of students is the average grade obtained by them in every subject taught at school. Therefore, by devoting time to all the subjects, the probability of receiving a higher average grade increases. Additionally, a higher average would result in these students being admitted in top ranking universities which can provide better employment chances. For this reason, it is clearly evident that students should be encouraged to study all the subjects included in the curriculum with equal dedication towards each of them. In conclusion, although many people consider that teenagers should concentrate on subjects they are motivated to study, in my opinion, they should be urged to study all the subjects in the syllabus as it results in a clear understanding of concepts and better university placements.