6. Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

For many years, advancement in technology has seen a lot of people accessing the internet for information. However, is it really worthed to give out personal information to companies running technology? Personally, I believe this has more drawbacks than benefits. Hence, In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of this issue and provide a conclusion. To begin with, I will look at the benefits. One of the major plus points to this is that the personal data provided can be used to personalise the functioning of the software. To illustrate, certain software that requires one to give personal information tend to use it in order to give individualised content to help that particular person. Therefore, the information one provides is used in return to help him. Despite this being the case, I still believe it is not a prudent thing to do. On the other hand, withholding personal information from these companies helps to protect a person from cyberbullying. Of late, there has been an increase in the number of people who have been abused online because they gave out all their personal data. Take, for example, a survey conducted by the Zambia Information and telecommunications on causes of cyberbullying, it was determined that this springs from the supply of confidential personal data. Henceforth, the grave dangers of doing so can not be underestimated. In conclusion, even though the provision of personal information to technology companies can be used to provide personalised service, it is often used to exploit an individual and bully them online. Personally, I believe the consequences outweigh any benefits one can get.