Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, along with the immense pressure coming from school life, more and more students prefer to take a gap year after graduation. The main reasons behind this idea are the advantages that could be acquired before attending university. From my standpoint, it is essential that students take a time off to broaden their horizons and decide on their career paths. Firstly, there is no doubt that the graduation year could be very challenging for some students, hence, taking a break helps them not only to refresh but also to develop their skills. For example, students rarely allocate time to their interests so they can take on new hobbies such as playing football or volleyball which also has a positive impact on their social connections. Secondly, some institutions have strict admission policies which require students to participate in volunteer work before starting a course. As a consequence, students could participate in various projects to build a strong resume which increases their chance to be accepted by the university. Additionally, students can find their interest while working in different jobs and continue their education in that pathway. Thirdly, a gap year can be considered as an opportunity for students to travel to foreign countries, and get recognized with different cultures. Also, students can learn a second language which obviously increases the chance of employment after graduating from university. Finally, with respect to the whole views mentioned above, although some people disagree with the idea of taking one year off from academic life, this time make students participate in different activities and find their goal in life. Therefore, institutions should offer different options for pupils after finishing school and help them to reach their goals.