Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often believed that speaking the truth at all times is not necessary, especially during occasions when it is considered pivotal to tell a lie. This essay agrees that while telling lies can sometimes be justified and is necessary when protecting a loved one from legal issues and when it causes harm to others, it disagrees that telling the truth is completely wrong as people have free will to do what is considered right. On the one hand, being dishonest can be justified when it comes to protecting a loved one from legal matters. For instance, in the US, married couples are allowed to refrain from testifying against each other in court. This shows that, although telling the truth is often the right thing to do, love comes above it, making it possible to do so. Furthermore, sometimes it is better to lie if you know that the presumed outcome of telling the truth may cause harm to someone else, especially close friends. In this case, telling the truth may harm the relationship and lead to mistrust going forward, which is obviously unhealthy. As a result, people might find themselves in a position where they lack meaningful friendships, therefore depleting their mental state. Finally, though I believe that there are most certainly occasions when telling a lie is far more reasonable, I think that it is still up to the individual whether or not they should do the right thing and tell the truth, as it is a reflection of their morals and they have the free will to do so. To conclude, I believe that sometimes telling the truth is unnecessary, such as when legally protecting a loved one or when trying to avoid causing harm to people. However, I disagree with the notion that telling the truth is totally wrong because people have the right to do what they think is the fair thing to do.