Many students decide to further their study abroad. What are the benefits and drawbacks of studying abroad? What is your view on this? What do you prefer? Give reasons for your answer.

Studying abroad has become more and more popular in recent years, compared to going straight into local universities. Undoubtedly, studying overseas has its pros and cons. For many reasons, which will be discussed in this essay, I believe that the advantages are more than the disadvantages. First, it is one of the best ways to build a foreign language ability. Students are forced to communicate with others using a second language, which facilitates their multilingual skills. In addition, living in a place with a completely different cultural background will widen their visions. People under the same culture might be constrained by stereotypes and social pressure and, therefore, tend to have similar thoughts. That said, outsiders might offer a fresh perspective, providing opportunities for them to think out of boxes. Furthermore, gaining independence is a major advantage of studying abroad, especially for Asians. Several studies on Eastern culture have shown that most parents in Asia are not willing to let go of their children even after adulthood. Consequently, lots of adults are deprived of making their own decisions and are not able to live on their own. Living in a distant nation, however, may free themselves from others' control, and create an environment to build up one's independence. Although studying abroad brings many benefits, there are some downsides as well. The high cost of the foreign study programs is the main drawback, indeed. Moreover, the mental pressure of living alone in an alien country is a big challenge for students. After finishing their studies, foreign graduates will also have to compete with locals for job opportunities. In my point of view, some students might fail to deal with these stressful situations, but those who get through the obstacles will strengthen their determination along with confidence, which helps them excel in many aspects of life and skills. Overall, despite having its difficulties, studying overseas benefits far more to students who achieve it.