Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others however believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime has become an acute issue today, with the advancement of science and technology society has become corrupted and, the crime rate has upsurged on a large scale. To tackle this, a section suggests longer prison terms, while others believe that alternative measures are the best way to mitigate crimes. Poverty and ignorance are the key main factors that lead one’s mind into criminal activities. According to some people, the best solution is to lock criminals up for longer, keeping society out of danger. This is the method used by most countries today. Furthermore, they believe that, punishing offenders with longer prison sentences help to invoke fear among other criminals. Because if someone is already aware of the intensity of punishment before committing any, it will deter him to do an illegal act. According to others' points of view, jail is not a deterrent for most forms of offending. Because after they are released, society tends to judge released prisoners more harshly, before they went to prison. So this situation encourages them to think about illegal activities again and again. Moreover, instead of extending imprisonment; prisoners’ minds and attitudes should be reformed against reoffending after release. So they should be undergo counselling programs, meditation programs and skill development workshops as well. In my view, I agree the alternative measures, would be more effective rather than sentencing long term imprisonment in most situations. The best way to tackle this complication is, to give good command of education. For example, in Sweden education is for everyone and the country’s authority is facilitating more employment opportunities, in order to do that, Sweden tops the list of peaceful countries. In conclusion, although, locking up un societies for a long time, seem to be the best way to mitigate the crime level; it is not the exact solution for the problem. Therefore governments have to be responsible for search the root cause and treating it, in order to create a peaceful world.