Public transport should be free. To what extent do you agree?

It is being said that transportation means should be free for everyone. I am completely in disagreement with above-said idea. Free public transportation might be preferable to being charged for trips, but it suffers from various disadvantages. The following essay will overlook two of these drawbacks that support my disagreement. First, transportation has its expenses including the vehicle maintenance, buying new vehichles, and staffs' salaries. For years the government had been viewed as the most responsible party to take care of these expences, but recently people are taking a fresh look at it as the costs have increased. For instance, there was a significant increase in the price of new buses due to the recent inflation, so people are expected to help the government to afford buying new ones for receiving better services. In addition, the salaries of public transportation staffs have been continuousely growing. Consequently, the public transportation will not be expanded and hire more drivers unless it had enough budget. Second, mankind usually has a downward perspective toward a free service. Free stuffs induce a false feeling of having a low quality in their customers. To illustrate, a free train might be assumed to be not safe and as a result the seats might remain empty. Moreover, people usually do not feel responsible about a product unless paying money for it and as it is more expensive, people try to look after it more cautiousely. For example, people do not make damages on airplanes as much as in buses. To sum up, providing a free public transportation is not as beneficial as it is expected to be. I believe that people should be charged because it makes them more responsible in using them. Furthermore, people should play their roles by paying the money which is needed for improving these services and prevailing their existance.