An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

With the growing opportunities for immigration, a large number of professionals migrate either temporarily or permanently, to further developed countries in search of better opportunities. This essay will discuss the problems this trend may cause as well the highlight the possible solutions that can be undertaken. There are two primary issues that increased migration to other countries could raise for the developing countries. Firstly, this would imply a decreased growth rate for the economy as the well-educated individuals would migrate to take advantage of the advancement abroad. Secondly, the same trend would also result in a brain drain for the country, implying that the labour available lacks the required expertise and knowledge. The impact of this would cause a decline in the quality of the services provided by these countries, either in medicine or education, thereby reducing their quality standards. For example, we can look at the case of India, where the majority of the population either have moved abroad or is planning to move due to the lack of adequate opportunities. There are several measures that the government can take to resolve this situation. To begin with, the government could encourage start-ups and provide funding to the individuals interested in entrepreneurship. This would result in creating more opportunities for the citizens across different sectors. Furthermore, companies should rework their salary structure, which would result in increasing employee retention and motivation. For instance, according to research by Cambridge University, 60% of the professionals migrate to a developed country for better pay and standard of living. To sum up, if a majority of the professionals leave their countries, it could result in declined growth rate and brain drain for those countries. It is necessary that the government of such countries take the required measures to retain such individuals.