It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

Volunteering has always been considered a virtue to individuals and society. Although there is an argument that this should be compulsory for all young people, in my opinion, this compulsion would bring more harm instead of advantages. There are two main benefits of compelling young people to do unpaid work. Firstly, the basic needs of indigents such as food and housework may be fulfilled. Many people who are in need cannot afford the food materials and starve, there is also a population who are unable to do housework because of disability or ageing. Secondly, helping others could boost the virtues of responsibility and compassion. There is a chance that seeing these people results in more understanding and broadening youth's horizons that the world is full of the population in an unfavorable situation. They may do not know how bad the situation can be and just live for themselves if they do not see and feel these people in person. On the other hand, I believe this coercion would have more downsides. One of these would be a lack of motivation. If youngsters have a say to help others as a volunteer, more numbers of them will become one. This group may not prefer to obey and do something compulsory but in the case of free will, they are happy to help. Another disadvantage could be the busy job schedule. Youth need to work full-time to have a prosperous future and be able to raise a family, therefore, they are likely to not have enough time for unpaid work and if they are forced to do, they will face health problems such as chronic fatigue. Moreover, this compulsion may give a sense of belittlement to the people in the community. No one accepts help from others if they are not willing to do that. In conclusion, compelling youngsters to do unpaid work in the community would have more potential harms than possible benefits. In my view, encouraging them to do volunteering would be more efficient.