In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose higher taxes on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that heavy taxes should be applied to Junk food by the higher authorities because it leads to a surge in the number of health ailments in many parts of the world. I strongly disagree with this statement because affluent families will consume it more and the working- class will suffer financially. First of all, even if the government will imply heavy taxes, rich class people will still have the affordability for having it. Affluent people have a high standard of living, merely an application of taxes will not stop them from having fast food. In addition, it will become food for only the rich classes, which they will consume with pride. As a result, it will lead to more consumption of Junk in the affluent class. Taking India as an example, the majority of elite school students consume more fast food in comparison to public schools. Thus, imposing taxes on these items will not hinder their intake. Secondly, it will put more financial burden on middle- class people. The majority of countries have employees which belong to middle-income groups. To sustain their daily needs, they eat fast food due to its affordability and time-saving benefits. However, if the government will impose heavy taxes, it will lead to having financial implications on the employees. As a result, they will have fewer savings which will affect their family life. For instance, in South Korea, most of the employees of multinational companies consume burgers and pizza during lunch breaks. Therefore, imposing taxes on these items will have serious consequences on the savings of employees. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that there should be a significant rise in taxes on junk food due to its unhealthy nature because it will lead to more intake of fast foods in affluent class due to their high standard of living and it will affect the budget of middle class working people.