Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings while others argue that space programs should continue no matter what the cost. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While we spend more and more on space exploration, we still have numerous problems on the earth, namely poverty, environmental pollution, etc. Therefore, there is an ongoing debate about whether we should spend as much as possible or we should cut the expense of universe exploration. Both sides of the argument will be analysed in this essay, and then I will try to draw a reasonable conclusion. To begin with, we have already spent a lot on space exploring, and we can hardly see any benefit it brings us. For example, different countries spent thousands of billions of USD trying to send people into space, succeeding in sending people out of the earth and even managing to get on the moon. However, those successful attempts have little influence on our daily life. As a result, some people question the necessity of exploring outer space and claim we should reduce its cost. On the contrary, others insist on exploration arguing that scientific researches always have few short-term effects, but benefit human being in the long run. To illustrate, physics scientists cost even more to build large atom-collision facilities to understand how the atom works. Similarly, it is hard to see the benefits at first sight, but we all understand fundamental physical research will benefit us sometime in the future. Thus, spending money on the exploration of the universe is a very worthwhile task. To summarize, both sides considering whether we should cut the budget or we should spend more on space exploration have strong support. But, after careful analysis, I strongly believe that we should keep founding such scientific exploration. It can be predicted that, after we possess sufficient knowledge about outer space, we can make our everyday life better by applying this knowledge, and consequently the exploration is worth the cost.