Too much money is spent on looking after repairing old buildings. They should be knocked down and we should build modern instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a huge amount of money is spent by citizens in order to renew their apartments.There is an argument related to the fact that all the rundown buildings should be removed to make way for modern buildings. I am strongly opposed to this point of view and I will support my idea with an example. First and Formost, Modern buildings completely can ruin the atmosphere of the cities. That is to say, imagine so many skyscrapers all in one part of the city can alter the view and people no longer can enjoy the beautiful landscapes. Secondly, it is an increasingly worrying issue that the valuable building which goes back to 50 years ago or even further which portrays our values would be destroyed so it is really important to take care of these kinds of building in order to enrich our culture and background. Turning to the other side of the argument, we should take into account that, flats can occupy only a small area of land. However, there are so many spaces only in that small area where people can work or live there in peace and quiet.Until these high rise buildings do not ruin the image of the city and provide high standards of living for the families, it may make cities and lifestyles more heterogeneous. In conclusion, Although, the tall buildings can withstand the earthquake and benefit folks with better living conditions, in my point of view, we cannot deny the importance of old buildings as these are linked us to the past generation and contribute to the beauty of the cities.