Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language has serious social and practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the opinion?

It is believed that residing in a nation where one is expected to conversate in a language different from their mother tongue causes major issues. Though I agree it can cause initial discomfort for anyone trying to settle in a new country, it has its advantages as well, and this essay would discuss both sides. Starting with the negatives, not knowing the local language of the region one may find it difficult to connect with local people and the surroundings. They may struggle to even get their daily chores done such as buying groceries, education, and health services, as they can’t speak the native language, which is normally the dialect being used by most local businesses. In addition, it can also lead to individuals feeling depressed with not being able to make friends in the new country. Overall, the person would have to struggle a lot and must put in time and effort to get better at conversating in that foreign language. However, there are certain benefits associated with the difficult time one must go through. First, having to mandatorily speak in a new language helps people to understand cultural differences better. For example, it can result in creating more harmony among people as they now connect with each other at a deeper level. Second, learning multiple languages is a great way of improving one ’s communication skills, which makes one more confident in life. Lastly, it is a big plus to be multi-lingual in today’s time as it can open a greater number of employment opportunities for the concerned person. In conclusion, though having to converse in a foreign dialect can be difficult initially but it has its positives as well, and one is advised to learn as many languages as they can.