Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, language is essential to communicate with people.Some professionals believe that toddlers should learn foreign languages in elementary schools, whilst others assume that they should learn in high school.I think the demerits outweigh the merits because young people will have a greater workload as a result. To begin with, young children are better language learners compared to older ones. Primary school children are at an early stage of learning, and therefore they tend to be open to new ideas.They are less likely tend to find the strange and difficult pronunciation and grammar of non-native languages than their counterparts in secondary school.For an instance, kids will try to learn the English language along with their mother tongue. However, many people have become successful, either professionally or financially, without mastering a second language. On the other hand,studying a new foreign language at primary school can greatly increase the workload on young pupils.If one needs to learn one more language then more classes should be taken and more homework to do. For example, In china English language is compulsory at primary school, they will spend daily 30mins in learning English, and to outperform their peers,many offsprings have enrolled in weekend classes. I think this will be a great disadvantage for children, at this age they should spend their time on leisure activities rather than burying themselves in endless academic tasks. To conclude, Although primary school -aged children tend to be good at acquiring non-native language,I believe that this advantage is far outweighed by the disadvantage of the heavy workload that comes with it.