In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The precedence of taking a short gap after elementary school is always a hotly debatable topic plenty of folks claim that it is vital for pupils to learn some practical skills that are advantageous in terms of their career growth. while critics argue that it leads to some serious issues such as a lack of commitment to study or interest goes down. Although this has a plethora of merits yet numerous demerits are also there which will be elaborated on in upcoming paragraphs. to begin with, the possible benefits A gap year provides the opportunity for you to develop valuable skills that can not be learned in the classroom. Cultural awareness, organization, independence, and increased confidence are just some of the skills that are gained by taking a year out. in addition, some tutees exploit the opportunities to gain hands-on experience which will positively impact their Cv. To exemplify, according to a study published recently shows that more than 60% of learner prefers to join volunteering or paid work and they acquired new skills that act to stand out in the interview as well as earn a reasonable amount to carry on their further higher studies in universities instead of going on vacations. Secondly, on the paradoxical side, With every decision we make comes risk, and a gap year is certainly no exception. Mitigating the risks involved requires budgeting, planning, and asking for help when you need it. For most, the benefits of a gap year far outweigh the risks, but whether that is true for you depends on your unique circumstances. One way to help alleviate some anxiety and risk is by signing up and travelling with a gap year program. There is a wide range of program options in nearly every country you’d like to gap year in, and range from volunteering to adventure travel, to language immersion, and much more.to illustrate, a recent global survey indicates that more than 40% of students who join paid work or go on travelling lose their interest in further studies in universities. Finally, to sum up, without any doubt this is a mixed bag if taking a gap enables a person to acquire a new pattern of skills or earn paid work has many positive aspects but the negative points of this notion may not be underestimated.