Many people believe that every individual is responsible for his/her own healthy lifestyle. Others believe that governments should take care of it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Thanks to medical breakthroughs nowadays, people live longer than in the old days; yet the modern lifestyle may also bring many health issues and burden the health system. In this essay, individual responsibility and the public healthcare system will both be explored, and they are evenly important to contributing to a healthy society. On one side, everybody should be responsible for their bodies. The long working hours, popular fast food trends and the continuous improving technology on the internet will keep people stay away from regular workouts, therefore leading to obesity or imbalanced nutrition, for instance, people will meet friends and family for gathering in the old days, but due to video conferencing can be easily accessible to reach others from every corner in the world, as a result, the virtual hangouts for chatting or gaming has become a trend. Without sufficient exercise and relying on frozen food or fast meal will hinder the fat burn. This personal selection should take part in the unhealthy outcome. On the other hand, although an individual's choice of a healthier living style can ease the burden on the medical system, some serious illnesses such as cancer, or unpredicted disease like COVID-19 is inevitable, which needs the government to raise the subsidy on medical research and experiment, in order to keep citizen away from sick. For example, apart from a regular basis on subsidiary policy for researchers, the government should spend more to hire expertise for bigger progress on medical breakthroughs during some unexpected pandemic. In conclusion, under the big coverage from the governing department on medical care, each person should have obligation to stay healthy.