More and more people are opting for ready made food instead of freshly prepared food. Do this development has more advantages than disadvantages.

Nobody is a stranger to the fact that increasing numbers of men and women are choosing precooked food rather than freshly made ones. In my opinion, there are both pros and cons in equal measure to this contention. There is no shortage of reasons why, if you ask me, there are benefits to this situation. In the first place, accessing convenience meals is very easy and fast. Many people live in a fast-paced society. There is fierce competition for everything. As a result, they have to work or study much harder and longer hours than in earlier times. This means they have less time for cooking. As a rule, a healthy diet takes lots of time and energy because many preparations are involved such as shopping for ingredients, cleaning up after a meal and the like. It follows, therefore, that they prefer to eat in or take away pre-made meals. Not only that, but it saves money. For instance, in many developed countries, KFC, and Hungary Jacks customers are often from low-income backgrounds. Having said that, however, the downsides of this development, as far as I am concerned, are no less significant. For one thing, fast food causes serious health issues these days. Many people know that obesity and high blood pressure are a result of having an unhealthy diet over long periods. These problems can lead to serious illnesses like diabetes, heart attacks, strokes and so on, which can kill people. Consequently, the majority of men and women are still continuously having their traditional cuisines. To name but one example, Tibetans in Lhasa eat Tsampa every day. A fast-food chain store like KFC is not available there. Turning to my own experience, the way things are when it comes to this matter in my country, China, is much the same as it was across the world over. My home city of Lanzhou is a classic case in point. Here, only youngsters like to eat hamburgers and chips. In conclusion, there are merits and drawbacks to the same degree to every choice we make, as individuals and as a society. Humans either choose ready-made meals or nutrient-dense fresh food according to their social and financial circumstances.