There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

As it seems the rate of severe crimes committed has been increasing annually. Although it is sometimes thought that capital punishment ought to be the best deterrent, other people believe that other disincentive measures will be needed. In my opinion, I believe that other punishments can be taken into account to prevent individuals from committing crimes. On the one hand, many think that capital punishment is extremely violent, hence other preventive punishments will be required and I agree. In other words, the death sentence can create a violent culture and encourages revenge, whereas other punishments can have the same level of effect with lower levels of violence. For example, broadcasting criminal trials on TV can be effective, since by watching them people will know what waits for them if they commit crimes. Furthermore, increasing the number of police officers on the streets can be beneficial as their presence can scare criminals off. Along with mentioned measures, lengthy punishments may deter individuals from committing crimes. Long-term sentences separate lawbreakers from society and even their loved ones which, consequently, creates a fear that stops them from breaking the law. On the other hand, it is often believed that the emphasis should be on the death penalty since it is the best deterrent. Living in a safe society is one of the rights of every human being and the death penalty can protect citizens by eliminating dangerous criminals who are none other than menaces to the public. Moreover, the latest reports show that incarceration costs American taxpayers approximately $38 billion per year, whereas the death penalty is a cost alternative punishment and a cheaper alternative to prison. Another reason why the death penalty is considered as the best deterrent is that the fear of death can make the most ruthless criminals thinks twice before committing crimes. In conclusion, while many people may vary in their opinions, I believe the death penalty is extremely violent and needs to be replaced with other measures.