In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To wht extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Fast food has been popularizing over the past few years around the world. But the fact is that many people get sick due to overconsuming fast foods. It is considered that the government should increase taxation on such foods to control the problems faced by individuals. I disagree with this statement and will give my opinion. Recently, a trend has been followed to check in different restaurants and cafes by citizens, particularly the teenagers and the youth. They eat foods such as burgers, pizzas, hot dogs etc.which contain a large number of calories. As a result, obesity becomes one of the problems among the young generation. Not only obesity but also different health issues like heart disease, kidney failure, and blood sugar are prominent.So to overcome these, imposing a tax on these foods should not be a solution. Because not everyone is involved in such activity. In addition, these taxes may be a burden to mass people. There will be a possibility to increase the price of other products if taxation on food is activated. Moreover, is it observed that,when taxes are counted on any product for the betterment of a nation, sometimes there is no effect of the tax on that item. For example, people do not reduce the eating habit to which they are habituated. In the long run, the inflation rate would be risen because of high costing and people will have to suffer. What the government can do, is to create awareness among everybody so that they may consume less fast foods as well as fewer calories. Thus, health difficulties should be minimized. In conclusion, imposing and collecting taxes from the citizens or the food factories or the importers are not a good deal rather than making consciousness related to these food items. Restaurants and cafes may play a vital role to hang the calorie charts on the walls.