International travel is becoming cheaper, and countries are opening their doors to more and more tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh disadvantages?

With the tendency that outbound tourism prices have decreased over time, governments around the world are welcoming more tourists. This essay will outline some positive and negative aspects of this trend. A disadvantage of outbound tourism lies in the fact that there is an increase in detrimental effects on the environment. In other words, tourists dispose of a large amount of garbage every year. For instance, the waste from tourists ’ activities such as eating and purchasing products that they only use a few times increases accordingly to the number of tourists. Moreover, tourists usually cause damage to the relics of the place they visit. In fact, some people may touch or even steal them as their own souvenirs. However, governments can probably take some actions to alleviate those drawbacks. They can issue stricter regulations to protect the relics or reinforce the waste treatment system to reduce harm to the environment. There are obviously some advantages that have to be mentioned. To clarify, more tourists probably lead to higher earnings for people in the countries through tourism-related businesses. From that income, they could have more opportunities to increase their life quality through attending higher education or approaching better healthcare. In addition, when travelling to another country, people have more chances to broaden their horizons. For example, they can have chances to immerse in other cultures and languages, learning new things which otherwise can not be fulfilled. In conclusion, the positive impacts of international tourism outweigh the drawbacks. Governments should both encourage travel activities and implement solutions to minimize the downsides.