It is more important for schoolchilrend to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree ? (MINH BUI)

In the contemporary era, many individuals believe that students should learn more about their own country's history than world history. I agree with this idea, my perspective will be discussed in the following paragraphs First of all, local history is important because it helps students understand culture and community in their own nation. The underlying rationale is that when children learn exclusively about historic events in their country, they can feel proud of their ancestors and also make they become patriots. For example, knowing about national heroes in their area can help them respect their roots and appreciate national heritage. In fact, there are a host of festivals celebrated in Vietnam to show gratefulness toward those who sacrifice themselves to protect national peace and security Secondly, studying local history also improves students' understanding of their country's geography and military. For example, I can learn why my country, Vietnam, won in wars, though my ancestors had to fight against far more powerful enemies in the past, including the United States of America and the infamous coloniser - France. Through those battles, I can know how high mountains or deep rivers were used to gain advantages. Subsequently, these knowledges help them know more about the area they live in and how it was protected in the past. By contrast, studying global events in the past does not help people to acquire insights regarding domestic geography and politics. In conclusion, studying local history brings about many benefits; therefore, I still hold the view that this should be expanded widely in education.